Abby Rapoport, Publisher and Co-Founder, rapoport@strangersguide.com
Abby spent the first portion of her career as a political reporter, covering Texas politics for the Texas Tribune, the Texas Observer and then The American Prospect. Her work has also appeared in Glamour, The National Journal and The New Republic. Prior to founding Stranger’s Guide, she served as Acting Publisher for the Texas Observer and currently chairs the Texas Democracy Foundation.

Kira Brunner Don, Editor-in-Chief and Co-Founder, kirabdon@strangersguide.com
Kira has worked as a magazine editor in New York for seventeen years and as a journalist in Eastern Europe and the Balkans. She studied philosophy at The New School’s Graduate Faculty and worked at a think tank at Columbia University before joining Lapham’s Quarterly, where she was executive editor for eight years. She is co-editor of the book The New Killing Fields: Massacre and the Politics of Intervention and is the founding co-director of the Oakland Book Festival.

Gina Whittington, Chief Revenue Officer, gina@strangersguide.com
Over the course of her career, Gina’s done everything from marketing to wedding planning. She’s an efficiency expert with a proven track record of running successful retail business, and brings two decades of marketing, sales and management to the team. She serves on the SIMS board, which promotes mental health awareness for musicians and their families, and is a managing partner of HOPE Outdoor Gallery.

Hilary Flood, Associate Publisher, hilaryflood@strangersguide.com
Hilary has worked throughout the publishing industry, including as an acquisitions editor for McGraw-Hill Education and Professional Publications, Inc. She has also worked with organizations dedicated to youth and teen writing, including serving as a development associate for Chapter 510, a K-12 writing center. She graduated from Texas Tech University with a degree in English Literature & Language.

Kyla Kupferstein Torres, Managing Editor, kylaktorres@strangersguide.com 
Kyla has spent her career as a writer and educator. A New York native, she served the director of admissions for the Hunter College Campus Schools as well as the College’s director of partnership programs. Her writing has been published in anthologies and online and she’s currently at work on a nonfiction book. She received her B.A. from Vassar College and her Ed.M from Harvard’s School of Education.

Alex Hannaford, Web Editor, alex@strangersguide.com 
Alex has worked as a journalist since 1997 and is a regular contributor to newspapers and magazines in the UK and abroad. He is the writer and director of The Last 40 Miles, an award-winning animated short film about the death penalty. He also hosted Dead Man Talking, a crime podcast for Audioboom, available on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, Stitcher, etc. which won silver at the 2019 British Podcast Awards. Alex is a Fellow of The Dart Center for Journalism & Trauma at Columbia University.

Joanna Yas, Literary Editor, joannayas@strangersguide.com 
Joanna was the editor of Open City Magazine & Books for over a decade and is currently editor-in-chief of Washington Square Review and executive editor of West 10th. She previously held positions at Ploughshares, Grand Street, and Zoetrope: All-Story. Joanna is the Readings & Special Programs manager at the NYU Creative Writing Program, where she teaches, co-curates the reading series and directs Writers in New York, the summer writing program.

Sofía I. González, Assistant Graphic Design, sofiagonzalez@strangersguide.com 
Sofía is a graphic artist and aspiring art director residing in Austin, Texas. She received her B.A. in English Literature from the University of Texas at Austin in May 2017. After graduating, Sofia taught English as a Foreign Language in Spain before returning to the University of Texas, where she is currently studying to receive her M.A. in Advertising with the Texas Creative portfolio.

Print Design: Justin Carder

Cover Illustrator: Benjamin Frisch

Contributing Editors

Kira Allmann, Aaron Bady, Joshua Beckman, Maria Dahvana Headley, Kyle Haddad-Fonda, Stephanie Heimann, Roger D. Hodge, Victor LaValle, John McMurtrie, Ayan Mittra, Emily Raboteau, Betsy Reed, Laura Secor, Cassim Shepard, Matthew Zapruder


South Korea
Alex Baek
Bruce Fulton
Keeyeon Jeong
Kevin Park

Lagos, Nigeria
Bibi Bakare-Yusuf
Jide Bello
Ebun Feludu
Phillip Ihenacho
Eghosa Imasuen
Eghosa Omoigui
Lola Shoneyin
Jeremy Weate

US National Parks Issue Editorial Board
Sterling Cosper
Nicole Ellis
Jerome T. Flood

Ireland Issue Editorial Board
Richard Nash
Mary Nally
James O’Sullivan

Caribbean Issue Editorial Board
Garnette Cadogan
Joshua Jelly-Schapiro
Courtney Desiree Morris

Moscow Issue Editorial Board
Yuri Avvakumov
Antonina W. Bouis
Misha Friedman
Elena V. Siyanko

Mexico City Issue Editorial Board
Juvenal Acosta
Kike Arnal
Sheerly Avni
David Lida
Margarita de Orellana
Eduardo Rabasa
Luisa Reyes Retana
Alberto Ruy-Sánchez